Hayle Runners beach run


the largest and one of the most successful running clubs in Cornwall


Entries are open for the Duchy 20

Taking place on the 6th March 2022, the Duchy 20 is now open for entries.

Click here for more information and to enter the race.

Hayle Runners do the distance

Hayle Runners were on the road running marathons again this weekend.

A group from the club took part in the Newport Marathon in south Wales.


The Newport Marathon has  gained a growing reputation with the running community as a flat fast alternative to the London Marathon.


Neil Hayhurst was quick out of the blocks and even faster than his time at London earlier this month finishing in an amazing time of 2 hours 48 minutes 12 seconds, swiftly followed by Tom Rosenfeld who finished in 2 hours 54 minutes 14 seconds.


Debbie Harrison-Webb had a fantastic run to take third place in her age category finishing in a time of 3 hours 25 minutes and 27 seconds.


Paul Wilcox finished in a time of 3 hours 37 44 seconds and Stuart Backhouse in a time of 4 hours 7 minutes 24 seconds.

Running closer to home but in the Dublin virtual Marathon, Julie Bolitho finished her third marathon in a month in a time of 6 hrs 13 minutes 22 seconds, whilst husband Rob ran his debut marathon in 6 hrs 19 minutes and 33 seconds.



Stormforce 10 (GP1)

Date: Sunday, Jan 23, 2022
Location: Camborne School, TR14 7PP


Newquay 10k (GP2)

Date: Sunday, Feb 6, 2022
Location: Newquay Sports Centre, TR7 2SL


Looe 10 (GP3)

Date: Sunday, February 27, 2022
Location: The Millpool Centre, PL13 2AF


St Ives Bay 10k

Tuesday 10 August 2021


more results...

Fab 4 tackle the Bournemouth Half Marathon


The Fab 4 from Hayle Runners tackled the Bournemouth Half Marathon at the weekend and came back smiling.

The Bournemouth Half Marathon is one of the biggest half marathons in the south west.


The undulating race starts at the spectacular and beautiful Hengistbury Head, which forms the main division between Poole and Christchurch bays.


The first 5 miles of the route makes its way along the cliff tops affording participants the very best views of the coastline before dropping down onto the seafront.


The runners finish in front of the historic Bournemouth Pier.


Emily Ellen led the Hayle team home in a new personal best of 1 hour 44 minutes 46 seconds followed by Sharon Rowat in 1 hour 50 minutes 41 seconds. Diane Warren won her age category in 1 hour 50 minutes 51 seconds and Zoe Renowden finished in 2 hours 9 minutes 39 seconds.


London calling-Hayle Runners impress in the capital and run well elsewhere

It has been a long time coming but the actual London Marathon has returned and Hayle Runners certainly made an impact in the capitals premier road race.


The club sent a strong team of more than 20  runners  who acquitted themselves well through out the field.

Neil Hayhurst led the team home in an impressive time of 2 hrs 49 minutes 29 seconds with Sophie Howard the first Hayle lady in a time of 3 hrs 35 minutes 20 seconds.


Members of the club were raising money for a variety of charities including the clubs nominated charity CHUF (the Cornish Heart Unit Fund), Children's Hospice SW, KRESLU the Police Charity, Cancer research, the Army Benevolent Fund and Sense.


Corinne Gerrard Hayle Runners women team captain said
'It was great to have a real live event along Londons streets with supporters along the way. It was different to previous years but the atmosphere was fantastic and it was great we had so many runners from Hayle Runners taking part, raising money for charity and doing so well.'

The London Marathon was not the only Marathon to take place on Sunday. Steve McLaren represented the club at the Loch Ness Marathon finishing in 3 hrs 56 minutes  and 4 seconds, breaking his own personal best for the course by more than 3 minutes.

Closer to home the club were also represented in force at the inaugural running of the Tywarnhayle 10k. This new race off road race starts  from Mount Hawke cricket club, the race takes in some coast path around Chapel Porth and back towards Porthtowan before a loop around Tywarnhayle mine before returning.


The climbing involved and uneven surfaces almost guarantee that runners will not beat their personal bests for the distance.


Gary Swain led the Hayle team home and Louise Olivier was the first Hayle lady home.

London Marathon:

Neil Hayhurst 2:49.29

Sophie Howard 3:35.20

John James 3:48.24

Melissa Nicholas 3:48.36

Kirsty Medlock 3:51.58

Rebecca Tossell 3:53.05

Sharon Lamerton 3:53.50

Corinne Gerrard 3:54.23

Kevin Silver 3:58.22

Oisín Curtis 4:00.48

Carolyn Daniel 4:08.41

Amy Jose 4:17.16

Elaine Adams 4:17.35

Frazer Humbles 4:17.41

Chunky Penhaul 4:18.38

Jon Savage 4:22.06

Jamie Gore 4:48.57

Julie Bolitho 6:01.02

Max Armstrong 6:02.31

Jo Lay 6:06.31

Claire Stone 6:18.57


Loch Ness Marathon

Steve McLaren 3:56:04


Hayle Runners out on the road

Hayle Runners were once again out on the road in various locations taking part in Road Races.

A group from the club took part in the Richmond half marathon where Diane Warren and Steve Wherry were able to wear their England age category vests because of their previous impressive performances. A fast and furious race produced a range of personal bests across the Hayle team.

Closer to home at another half marathon at Torbay, Melissa Nicholas led the team home in a personal best time of 1 hr 42 minutes and  and Julie Bolitho finished in 2 hrs 44 minutes. Rob Bolitho completed the Torbay 10k in 59 minutes 21 seconds


Rebecca Tossell and Julia Burns took part in the Bideford 10k which takes in magnificent views of the Taw and Torridge estuary finishing along the Tarka trail.


Rebecca came third in her 35-39 age category in 44 minutes 35 seconds and Julia won her 55-59 age category in 47 minutes 44 seconds.

Neil Hayhurst 1:18:13
Tom Rosenfeld 1:18:19
Steve Wherry 1:21:00
Steve Fuller 1:26:37
Diane Warren 1:48:01
Jamie Gore 2:08:26